This is probably going to make my sister cry… Again

I mean it wouldn’t be the first time I’ve made my sister, Tracy cry before. When you’re an older sister it is part of your job. The older sibling is always the guinea pig of parenting, so you kinda have to even it out.

In a previous blog post I’ve mentioned that I’m not a huge softie or crier. This past Friday I did not cry when Tracy graduated high school. I barely made it through the second sentence of her card that paired with her gift, and I started crying not because I was upset, but because I was so damn proud of her. I hadn’t taken a moment to realize how fast my little sister has grown into such a beautiful young woman.

That’s the other thing about being the older sibling. Sometimes we tend to get too caught up in our world to take the time to notice that your baby-other is growing up too. It’s hard to believe how fast time goes.

enhance

While writing this card I never felt so proud of Tracy. She excelled in school where we both know she was better at than me. She matured into a young woman who is ready to take on the world on her own. I’m not exactly sure when was the last time I’ve been this proud of her. But I’m glad out of all occasions it was this one.

I know you (Tracy) still have two more months before you head off to college but here are some tips to help you while away:

Take advantage of the freedom, but stay on track.

College is rough and offers a lot of freedom. Use it to your advantage, but don’t forget that you’re also there to graduate. It’s a place for fun, exploration, and achievements to be proud of, to look back on. It’s your time to shine before heading into the “real world.”

enhance (2)

Be smart about having fun.

There are plenty of times to have fun, but don’t forget to make smart choices. The world isn’t perfect unfortunately. All we can do is be smart about the things we do while also enjoying it. Trust me, you’ll thank yourself later.

enhance (5)

Take pride in your work.

It’ll show. It’ll show to who recognizes it, to who you’re doing it for, to yourself. Not every assignment will be perfect, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t put your best effort into it. As long as you believe in your work, people will believe in you.

enhance (7)

Negative criticism can either be a positive thing or taken with a grain of salt.

Like said before, the world isn’t perfect and neither are humans. There will be people who disagrees with you, and that is okay. That is how we live in color. Using negative criticism can help you excel and utilized towards being the best person you can be. It’s also important to take it with a grain of salt. Ain’t nobody got time for haters.

enhance (3)

Make time for yourself.

At the end of the day it is you who is living your life. You make your own choices and provide your own work. Working hard, and playing hard is one thing. But don’t forget to take some time with yourself. It’s okay to be selfish at times, especially if you need a break from stress. You’re the only one who knows their own worth, so make sure you treat yourself well and that you’re getting treated equally.

enhance (8)

Wherever life takes you kiddo, make the best of it. There isn’t enough time in life to be sad for too long. The next four years will be the ones you cherish, and grow into the best you can be. Meet great people, and make greater memories. There is so much more I would tell you, but we still have time.

IMG_6737

You’ve got the whole world at your fingertips. There will be ups and downs but you know what? Make it worth it to say that all is swell.

Leave a Reply

